Polling places for 2009 special election - Fox 28: South Bend, Elkhart IN News, Weather, Sports

Polling places for 2009 special election


St. Joseph County, Indiana will hold a special election on Tuesday, November 3rd.  There's only one issue on the ballot, and it's a question on whether or not St. Joeseph County should join a regional transportation district along with Lake, Porter, and LaPorte counties. 

This is how the question will appear on the ballot:

"Shall there be created the Northernn Indiana Regional Transportation District under IC 8-24 to provide a regional rail system serving Lake, Porter, LaPorte and St. Joseph counties and regional bus public transport system serving Lake and Porter counties with St. Joseph County becoming a member of the District?"

Voters will then select either "Yes" or "No."

Not all of the normal polling places will be open for this special election, and voting will be held at the 30 locations listed below.  You can click on the District Name to view a map of that district.

If you're not sure where to vote, or which district you are in, here's how you can find out:

  • Click here to connect to the IndianaVoters.com Online Lookup
  • Or you can call Voter Registration at (574) 235-9521.

There are a lot of questions about this election and FOX 28 wants to help you find the answers and stay informed.  If you have any questions or concerns, please use the comments section near the bottom of this page to submit them.  We will then post futher information on this page and in other stories here on FOX28.com.

St. Joseph County 2009 Special Election

(Click to view map)

Polling Place



 South Bend

SB-1A #2 Fire Station
402 Martin Luther King Drive
South Bend, IN
SB-1B Memorial Presbyterian Church
1836 Portage Avenue
South Bend, IN
SB-2A Charles Martin Youth Center
802 Lincolnway West
South Bend, IN
SB-2B LaSalle Intermediate Academy
(Meade Street - Door #3)
2701 Elwood Avenue
South Bend, IN
SB-3A Jefferson School
(Door 13 - Auditorium)
528 S. Eddy Street
South Bend, IN
SB-3B Lincoln School
1425 E. Calvery Street
South Bend, IN
SB-4A Perley School
740 N Eddy Street
South Bend, IN
SB-4B Teamsters Union Local #364
2405 Edison Road
South Bend, IN
SB-5A Riley High School
(North Door)
1902 S. Fellows Street
South Bend, IN
SB-5B #10 Fire Station
5303 York Road
South Bend, IN
SB-6A #5 Fire Station
4302 W. Western Avenue
South Bend, IN
SB-6B UAW Local #5
1426 S. Main Street
South Bend, IN


Mish-1 Emmons School
(North Door Gym Entrance)
1306 S. Main Street
Mishawaka, IN
Mish-2 Coutny Services Building
219 Lincolnway West
Mishawaka, IN
Mish-3 Hums School
(Gym Entrance)
3208 Harrison Road
Mishawaka, IN
Mish-4 EMS Building
333 E. Mishawaka Avenue
Mishawaka, IN
Mish-5 Liberty School
600 E. Pregel Drive
Mishawaka, IN
Mish-6 John Young Jr. High School
1801 N. Main Street
Mishawaka, IN


Centre-Green Centre Twp. Fire Station
19971 Kern Road
South Bend, IN
Olive-Warren Elbel Golf Course (Pro Shop)
26595 Auten Road
South Bend, IN
Portage-German Dickenson Middle School
4404 Elwood Avenue
South Bend, IN
Madison-Union Operating Engineers Local #150
(North Door)
Corner of US 31 South & SR 4
Lakeville, IN
Liberty-Lincoln American Legion Post 190
302 Legion Drive
Walkerton, IN
Harris-A Prairie Vista School
15400 Brick Road
Granger, IN
Harris-B Harris Twp Fire Station #1
12481 Anderson Road
Granger, IN
Penn-A Penn Twp Fire Station #1
13960 Jackson Rd
Mishawaka, IN
Penn-B Penn High School
(Jefferson Street Entrance)
56100 Bittersweet Road
Mishawaka, IN
Clay-A Clay High School
(Door #3 NE Side of Building)
19131 Darden Road
South Bend, IN
Clay-B Cornerstone Community Church
52277 Hickory Road
South Bend, IN
Clay-C Little Flower Church
54191 N. Ironwood Road
South Bend, IN
Published by FOX28
Powered by WorldNow

Fox 28

58096 County Road 7, South
Elkhart, IN 46517

Switchboard: 574.679.9758
News Phone: 574.679.4545
Station Fax: 574.294.1267
Email: fox28news@fox28.com

All content ©Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WSJV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Heather Stewart at (574) 343-5310. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.