Manti, Kelly, Notre Dame Dominate College Awards Show - Fox 28: South Bend, Elkhart IN News, Weather, Sports

Manti, Kelly, Notre Dame Dominate College Awards Show


Winning a postseason college football award is a memory for a lifetime for most players and coaches.  Winning 5?  It's only happened once in the history of college football.  Notre Dame Senior Linebacker Manti Te'o won the Maxwell Award for the best player in the game Thursday night.  Add to that the Bednarik, Nagurski, Lombardi and Butkus Awards and you have a player who ties Charles Woodson for the most awards in one postseason.  Woodson also won the Heisman which Te'o is a finalist for Saturday night.

In addition to Te'o's amazing sweep of trophies, Brian Kelly was named the Home Depot National Coach of the Year.  Tyler Eifert was named the Mackey Award Winner for the best Tight End in College Football.  And earlier in the week, Assistant Head Coach/Defensive Coordinator Bob Diaco was named the Broyles Award Winner for the best assistant coach in the game.

Notre Dame will hold their team awards show Friday night.  Then it's back to work to prepare for the National Championship game January 7th in Miami. 


Powered by WorldNow

Fox 28

58096 County Road 7, South
Elkhart, IN 46517

Switchboard: 574.679.9758
News Phone: 574.679.4545
Station Fax: 574.294.1267

All content ©Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WSJV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Heather Stewart at (574) 343-5310. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at