Brian Kelly wins FWAA Coach of the Year - Fox 28: South Bend, Elkhart IN News, Weather, Sports

Brian Kelly wins FWAA Coach of the Year


The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) has named Coach Brian Kelly the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year.

"Notre Dame, under Coach Kelly, has returned to national prominence in the college football ranks," said FWAA President Lenn Robbins.  "This award recognizes that accomplishment for the 2012 season, a season that began with 124 teams vying for an elusive undefeated campaign. Notre Dame was the only bowl-eligible school to accomplish that impressive feat."

Kelly was chosen from among nine finalists for the prestigious award.  Kelly joins three other Notre Dame coaches who have received the distinction over the years.  The other coaches are Ara Parseghian (1964), Lou Holtz (1988), and Charlie Weis (2005). 

The FWAA Coach of the Year has been given out since 1957.  It has carried Eddie Robinson's name since 1997.  Click here for a complete list of FWAA Coach of the Year Award winners.

Powered by WorldNow

Fox 28

58096 County Road 7, South
Elkhart, IN 46517

Switchboard: 574.679.9758
News Phone: 574.679.4545
Station Fax: 574.294.1267

All content ┬ęCopyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WSJV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Heather Stewart at (574) 343-5310. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at