Elkhart Police release names of officers involved in shooting - Fox 28: South Bend, Elkhart IN News, Weather, Sports

Elkhart Police release names of officers involved in shooting

Ray, Mayer, Gruber (Courtesy: Elkhart Police Department) Ray, Mayer, Gruber (Courtesy: Elkhart Police Department)

Elkhart Police have released the names of the three officers involved in a shooting and chase Sunday evening.

Police say Corporal Jason Ray and Patrolmen Jason Gruber and Daniel Mayer were the officers involved.

Police say it happened after a chase that started around 8:00pm near the corner of Bristol and Cassopolis Streets. Indiana State Police, who are investigating the case, say Elkhart officers were trying to pull over a stolen, blue and gray 1995 Chevy truck for a traffic violation. The chase went into Michigan before returning to Elkhart.

State Police say James Ryckeart of Elkhart was attempting to back the truck into the path of officers when police opened fire.

Ray has been on the force since August 2006. Both Gruber and Mayer have been on the force since May of 2011.

All 3 officers have been placed on administrative leave pending the completion of the Indiana State Police investigation and a review by the Elkhart County Prosecutor.

Powered by WorldNow

Fox 28

58096 County Road 7, South
Elkhart, IN 46517

Switchboard: 574.679.9758
News Phone: 574.679.4545
Station Fax: 574.294.1267
Email: fox28news@fox28.com

All content ©Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WSJV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Heather Stewart at (574) 343-5310. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.