Officers honored for fatal Martin's shooting action - Fox 28: South Bend, Elkhart IN News, Weather, Sports

Officers honored for fatal Martin's shooting action

Posted: Updated:
Cpl. Cody Skipper (Left) & Cpl. Jason Tripp (Right) (Courtesy Elkhart Police Department) Cpl. Cody Skipper (Left) & Cpl. Jason Tripp (Right) (Courtesy Elkhart Police Department)

State lawmakers have honored the two police officers credited with stopping the deadly attack inside an Elkhart Martin's in January and held a moment of silence for the two women who were killed.

Members of the Indiana House stood and applauded Wednesday morning after approving a resolution recognizing the bravery of Elkhart police Cpls. Jason Tripp and Cody Skipper. The two officers fatally shot the gunman inside a Martin's Super Market on Jan. 15 as he threatened to shoot a third person.

Tripp and Skipper attended the Statehouse ceremony along with relatives of the shooting victims, 20-year-old store employee Krystle Dikes and 44-year-old shopper Rachelle Godfread.

Rep. Timothy Neese of Elkhart told the House that more lives likely would've been lost without the quick action by the officers.  

"Thisis every family's worst nightmare," said Rep. Neese. "These young women's liveswere tragically cut short simply because they were in the wrong place at thewrong time; one was at work, and the other was shopping.  The best we cando is honor the memories of these young women and rally behind their familiesduring their time of grief in the way only Hoosiers could do."

Governor Pence also awarded the officers with Public Safety Awards in his office following the ceremony in the House chamber.

The Associated Press contributed to this story.

Powered by WorldNow

Fox 28

58096 County Road 7, South
Elkhart, IN 46517

Switchboard: 574.679.9758
News Phone: 574.679.4545
Station Fax: 574.294.1267

All content ┬ęCopyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WSJV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Heather Stewart at (574) 343-5310. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at