Counties declared disaster areas after hail storm - Fox 28: South Bend, Elkhart IN News, Weather, Sports

Counties declared disaster areas after hail storm

Posted: Updated:

CHICAGO (AP) - The U.S. Secretary of Agriculture has declared several counties in Eastern Illinois and Western Indiana a disaster area after a spring hail storm ruined area strawberry crops.

Gov. Pat Quinn announced the declaration in a news release Thursday. It applies to Vermilion, Champaign, Douglas, Edgar, Ford and Iroquois counties in Illinois and Benton, Vermillion and Warren counties in Indiana.

The area's strawberry crop was reaching maturing when the May 21 hail storm hit and destroyed the entire crop.

Illinois' crop is located primarily in Vermilion county. The federal disaster declaration extends to contiguous counties.

The declaration allows farmers who suffered losses to apply for low-interest loans from the U.S Department of Agriculture.

The storm didn't have a big impact on the area's corn and soybeans.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow

Fox 28

58096 County Road 7, South
Elkhart, IN 46517

Switchboard: 574.679.9758
News Phone: 574.679.4545
Station Fax: 574.294.1267

All content ┬ęCopyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WSJV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Heather Stewart at (574) 343-5310. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at